Fun with Folded Paper

So I’m a bad teacher, sometimes.  In that I’m a big kid too.  So, for some class time fun, we played around with I heart ? On the board and then I taught them the LOVES game, where you add up the combination of Ls and Os etc in the name of a boy and a girl and finish with a percentage of compatibility.  They practised their numbers and the word “plus”.  They learnt a new game for school (even the boys liked this!  They could take the mickey out of each other, so it meant lots of fun!).  This related to a text in More 2 where a girl is telling her friend about this cool boy she saw at school.  I asked them to read the text and find out who Olivia loves.  Then, they found the special percentage number of the two characters using their first names.  Later in the class, the material asked them to practise asking and expressing their preferences.  Boring, I thought.  So we made these things that I remember playing with when I was at school.

They listened to my instructions and then we wrote words.  On the outside were numbers.

On the middle layer, we wrote lexical items we have been learning.  As you can see, one of the topics was transport.  On the inside flaps, we wrote preferences.  Then, they went round asking each other to choose a number.  Then they would count the number.  They then asked their partner to choose a word.  They had to spell the word and move the paper in time to the spelling.  Then, they asked their partner to choose a word.  They would then lift the flaps and ask “Do you like Real Madrid?”  The student would then reply (hopefully in this case) “No, I prefer Barca”.  20 minutes of the lesson flew by.  Eight happy students and one even happier teacher.

4 Responses to “Fun with Folded Paper”

  1. David Warr Says:

    Great stuff.

  2. crazykites Says:

    The funny thing is that it took me a while to remember how to do it, with a couple of internet searches. The first class, they had to watch and listen and help each other. The second class was the same, but I kept referring the the shapes as square sandwiches and triangle sandwiches. They knew what I meant.

  3. Carole Says:

    Kids love these things – and you can use them in so many situations.

  4. johnnytownmouse Says:

    Ooh great idea! I did that when I taught high-school level Modern Greek for a while. I used them to teach insults. The kids loved it!

Leave a Reply

