Five Months On

I’ve managed to keep away from things EFL related today apart from blogs.  I do have an addiction, but I hope this all counts as CPD.

So, what’s going through my mind?  The job, for one.  I might attend a conference in a couple of months.  We’ll have to wait and see.  I have mixed feelings about my involvement in these things, as they can cost a fair bit if you have to travel.  I have a reasonable income for the sector I am in, but it’s not a fantastic salary in general terms.  I don’t spend a lot in Spain other than my rent, bills and food and bus fare, but we want to try and save for a rainy day.

I realise I have a tendency to moan about most things, but I’m thankful for my job.  I spoke to some attendees at a workshop I went to last week and I got talking to some new people.  Some of them are working in an academy that rejected me last May.  I also met a lady on my Christmas flights who is working for an organisation who offered me a summer job last year which I rejected.  It seems that there are organisations who are a lot less fair to their employees than mine.

At my academy, we work around 23-24 hours a week and get paid similar to those who work 25+ hours.  We get breaks between classes.  I hate the administration, but it’s not an unreasonable amount compared to other academies.  It’s a normal amount of work.  The stress I experience is part and parcel of learning my trade.  If I wanted to be relaxed, I could be, but I want to improve, so I place stress on myself.  We never have to work weekends and only one of us works mornings.  The boss encourages us to attend local workshops.  We don’t have to wear a uniform and we get given our books for the year.  I work all the time in the same centre, which means no travelling from place to place.  We do have to use a course book, which is both a blessing and a curse.  The boss is an ELT professional with a post-graduate diploma, so she knows what she’s talking about.  The things that annoy me about the place are not hugely important and things I’ve got used to.  So, five months in, I am pleased that I was offered this job.  It was the only post I was offered, which meant no difficult decisions to make.

Leave a Reply

