Some more “Book Talk”

One of my biggest regrets is not having read more books.  I feel ill-informed on a number of subjects because reading is, for me, hard work.

At the moment I’m trying to read more on my current subject, which is EFL.  It’s terribly boring, sometimes.

I also like to read fiction, just for fun, and to let off some steam after (or even before) my working day.

I’ve just finished reading Adrian Mole’s latest diary, The Prostrate Years, so now it’s time to finish a book I started in March of last year, Around the World in Eighty Days.  I also have The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini and a book called One Day by David Nicholls.  I shall be busy for a while.  Of course, these reading endeavours mean that I shall be watching less television and trying to spend less time on the computer.

What are you reading and what helps you concentrate?

8 Responses to “Some more “Book Talk””

  1. T Bestwick Says:

    I find academic reading difficult too. I have “The English Verb” by Micheal Lewis to get through at the moment. It’s not the best book for bedtime reading though!

  2. crazykites Says:

    I’m reading Teaching Unplugged, which is interesting but the small type on the page is a pain for my eyes and I have good eyes! My mum would need a magnifying glass.

  3. Carole Says:

    Actually, small writing is OK as long as I’m not wearing glasses/contacts. I shall go to bed earlyish tonight and finally start to read ‘Life’, Keith Richards’ autobiography.

  4. Alan Tait Says:

    I’m a bit late in commenting – just discovered you now 🙂 I think you’re onto something with switching everything off. (Life must have been sooo silent before Edison.)

    Oh and if you spend time on public transport, get an ebook reader. Huge godsend.

    • crazykites Says:

      Thanks for stopping by! Better late than never 🙂

      One good thing about my life before Spain was that those boring double bus journeys into work could be put to good use by reading (or listening to music). Now, my work is down the road, so I save time, but I have less quiet reading time.

      An ebook reader will be a great purchase if my eyesight goes down the pan or if I study something like a DELTA or an MA which will involve a lot of reading.

  5. Richard Says:

    I’ve got so much reading for my MA that reading for pleasure has been forgotten temporarily! I saw the film of the Kite Runner recently, very moving. If you’re looking for recommendations, two Spanish-set novels I’ve read recently are ‘Winter in Madrid’ by C. J. Sansom and ‘Guernica’ by Dave Boling. Neither are light or cheerful, I admit, but they’re extremely good!

    • crazykites Says:

      I could never read when I did my degree as time was spent trying not to read what I was supposed to be reading, and instead watching Doctors or America’s Next Top Model, or playing on Guitar Hero (not mine – my old housemate’s!)

      I don’t claim to be an avid reader. I just like to buy books and look good carrying them around.

Leave a Reply

