Not Sure I’m Good at this.

I’ve lost confidence in my ability to ever be a good teacher.

Why is it so hard?

Why aren’t I there yet?

6 Responses to “Not Sure I’m Good at this.”

  1. Anna Says:

    I hate those days… when you lose all confidence… it’s rubbish :-/

    Teaching is hard.. and just when you think you’re getting the hang of it … you lose it… I guess a bit like flying a kite ;-p one minute the wind is blowing and you’re soaring the next you’re a limp mess on the ground.

    The final question shows you’re a lot better than you think. The moments in time when I’ve thought that I was ‘there’ have been when I was most bored and stagnant. I’m coming to the conclusion that I will never be ‘there’ but so long as the ‘here’ is changing and I’m learning I think that’s ok.

    Tomorrow’s another day… you’ll soar again!

  2. Alan Tait Says:

    Anna’s right. If you’re anything like me, give yourself a few days and a bit of variety in life and lessons, and you might recover the breeze in your kite. Hope so.

  3. angelatopping Says:

    Only the best teachers ever feel like this. The crap ones are complacent. Trust me. I was a teacher for a long time.
    To cheer yourself up, prepare one stonking lesson you can do with a few classes. And remember, the less work you do in a lesson means the more the blighters have to do so the more they learn. A wise headteacher told me most of the work is done planning the lesson.

Leave a Reply

