Transition Shock

From Wikipedia.  Very amused by this.

Transition shock

Culture shock is a subcategory of a more universal construct called transition shock. Transition shock is a state of loss and disorientation predicated by a change in one’s familiar environment which requires adjustment. There are many symptoms of transition shock, some which include:

  • excessive concern over cleanliness and health SORT OF BECOME A MORE FUSSY EATER AS I DON’T WANT TO GET SICK
  • feelings of helplessness and withdrawal  HAVE DEFO HAD THIS A FEW TIMES
  • irritability  SOMETIMES AGAIN
  • glazed stare  YES, THOUGH PROBS MORE TO DO WITH “MENTAL LESSON-PLANNING” THAN ANYTHING ELSE.  HAD THIS THE FIRST TIME I CAME TO CADIZ 3 YEARS AGO
  • desire for home and old friends DESIRE FOR HOME YES YES YES
  • physiological stress reactions DUNNO.  SORE SHOULDERS COULD THIS BE?
  • homesickness YES YES YES
  • boredom YES YES YES (THOUGH PROBS COZ THERE ISN’T A GREAT DEAL IN CADIZ.  IT’S NOT EXACTLY NEW YORK, IS IT?)
  • withdrawal AT FIRST, YES.  NOT SO MUCH NOW.
  • getting “stuck” on one thing PROBABLY.  MUM?
  • excessive sleep YES YES YES
  • compulsive eating/drinking/weight gain COMPULSIVE EATING (COZ IT COMBATS BOREDOM)
  • stereotyping host nationals 100%!
  • hostility towards host nationals YES QUITE A LOT OF THE TIME

Oh how comforting to be able to put a label on my inneptness at being sociable!  though on reflection, I don’t get all of these any more, so maybe I’m moving out of the “Negotiation Phase” into the “Adjustment Phase”.  These phases are of five, the first being “Honeymoon Phase” which is possible to skip.  I did skip this phase with Cadiz.  I’ve never felt romantic.  I didn’t skip it in France.  Looks like I’m going to have to make an effort, because the people like me tend to have problems on reintegration to their home country.  I don’t want to be an “adoptor” of the Spanish culture, but I most certainly am a “rejector” which doesn’t bode well.  I hope to adapt and become a “Cosmopolitan”.

For all information I have referred to, check out good old Wikipedia.

 

 

4 Responses to “Transition Shock”

  1. Carole Says:

    Blimey! Do they have to give everything a fancy name these days? What happened to good old fashioned, “it took me a while to settle”?

  2. crazykites Says:

    Just don´t tell my little sis! She’d have a field day with all this psychology! And you’ll never get her to go to uni.

  3. johnnytownmouse Says:

    Sounds familiar to me too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

