Twitter

It’s interesting to see people’s thoughts on Twitter.  Evidently, many people are positive about the use of Twitter as a networking tool to get the latest information and keep up with hot topics and debates as well as to forge useful relationships with others in the same profession.

I use Twitter as my “virtual staffroom”* among other things, and it’s great for having discovered what’s hot and what’s not in the world of ELT.  As a new teacher, I have learned about such things as Dogme as a result of Twitter.  The blogs I now subscribe to, I was first introduced to by Twitter.  I have about eighty followers, most of whom are teachers.  Everyone seems very kind and giving and they offer a lot of support, whether directly or indirectly.

I go through phases of commenting and discussing on Twitter, but I am primarily a lurker.  I can happily switch off from Twitter for a week or two.  I opt in and out.  I don’t read everything and I don’t click on every link.  I don’t join in with every ELT Chat and I don’t follow every blog.  I have a free and easy relationship with Twitter, and I don’t feel any obligation to give it any more time than I do.  I can understand why many do, those who are far more “hot” than me.

I am not friends with everyone, a problem which bothers me in my real world as well as my virtual world, but you know what?  I actually find this fact rather liberating.

I think what I’m trying to say is that I cheat.  A lot.  I very rarely read more of a reference book than I really need.  I read the odd chapter here and there.  If I read every book in the world that I ought to, there wouldn’t be any time to eat or sleep or talk to people or other necessities.  So I don’t.  And I don’t read everything on Twitter that my PLN recommends.  And you know what?  That’s fine.  We are always going to miss out on something good, just like we do in conferences.  We just have to do the best we can with what little we tune into and relax.

That’s my opinion, anyway.

 

*Guido Europeaantje‘s term for using Twitter for professional development.  It’s all his fault!  😉

6 Responses to “Twitter”

  1. David Warr Says:

    Yep.

  2. Guido Says:

    * see you there, crazykites 🙂

  3. Guido Says:

    Now where did I leave my Virtual Kettle?
    Character!

  4. crazykites Says:

    coffee, milk no sugar, please. 😉

Leave a Reply

